Learning and Teaching Academy

About the Academy

The Academy was formed by the ACDA to inform innovation and quality in tertiary teaching practice in Agriculture and related disciplines.

The Academy aims to:

  • encourage the scholarship of learning and teaching (SoLT) for agricultural educators
  • provide reward and recognition for excellence and innovation in tertiary agricultural education via the Australian University Agriculture Education Awards for Excellence in Teaching
  • promote and sustain the implementation and regular update of the national Threshold Learning Outcomes (TLOs) for Agriculture
  • support interactions between tertiary and secondary agricultural educators and industry.

To promote leadership and share good practice in agricultural education, community-of-practice events are held regularly:

  • Online workshops (at least twice per year)
  • Ag Ed Symposium (every two years)

Upcoming Events

Refreshing the Threshold Learning Outcomes for Agriculture Online Workshop Thursday 14th September 2023 [Please register HERE]

Our 3rd Ag Ed Symposium will be hosted by CQUniversity Australia and take place on the 6th and 7th of February 2024 in Rockhampton.

Please visit https://agri-techeducation.com/aged24 or download this FLYER for more information. Abstract submissions for presentations and posters close on the 21st August 2023.

The Australian University Agriculture Education Awards for Excellence in Teaching will also be presented at AgEd24. Applications close 11th October - please see this PDF for more details of the application requirements.

L&T Resources

Learning and Teaching Academic Standards Statement for Agriculture (which includes the National Threshold Learning Outcomes for Agriculture)

Good Practice Guide: Threshold Learning Outcomes for Agriculture

Agricultural Education Symposium: Growing the Future International Journal of Innovation in Science and Maths Education (IJISME) Special Issue [2019; volume 27(4)]:

Agricultural Education IJISME Special Issue [2021; volume 29(4)]:

The employer of choice or a sector without workforce?

ACDA LTA Steering Group 2023-2024

Amanda Able (University of Adelaide), Convenor, ACDA LTA
Amy Cosby (Central Queensland University), Convenor, Ag Ed Symposium Organising Committee
Janelle Wilkes (University of New England), Convenor, Education Awards Committee
Sarita Bennett (Curtin University), Vice-President ACDA
Tina Botwright Acuña (University of Tasmania)
Beth Loveys (University of Adelaide)
Marisa Collins (La Trobe University)
Sarah Frankland (University of Melbourne)
Zora Singh (Edith Cowan University)